Board Approves Dining Hall, Recognizes Faculty

Published: May 01, 2013

Board Approves Dining Hall, Recognizes Faculty

Board Approves Dining Hall, Recognizes Faculty

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – The Texas A&M System Board of Regents today approved construction of a new dining hall on the island campus of Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi.

“We’re excited to move forward on this project that will enhance the quality of student life on campus by bringing food service closer to the residence halls and allowing meal plan options,” said Dr. Flavius Killebrew, President and CEO of Texas A&M-Corpus Christi. “We know that improving the experience on campus helps students succeed in the classroom.”

Construction will begin on the single-story $8 million dining hall in August and is expected to be complete for the Fall 2014 semester.  The 18,700 square-foot facility will include indoor and outdoor seating as well as food service and preparation areas. In addition to providing dining options, the hall will serve as a gathering place and center for activity for students, faculty and staff.   

The project is one of several underway or in the planning stages at A&M-Corpus Christi, including 300 additional residence hall beds located adjacent to the dining hall. The University is also moving the recreational sports fields to the Momentum Campus, planning expansion of the University Center, and completing the Dr. Jack Dugan Family Soccer & Track Stadium in June. The new women’s soccer team will begin play August 23, 2013.

“With more than 10,500 students this past fall, and even more expected this fall, we’re making every effort to ensure we can serve each student with the personal attention and quality atmosphere that the community has come to expect from the Island University,” said Killebrew.

In other action, the Board of Regents granted tenure to five faculty members effective September 1, including:

  • Dr. Brian Elzweig, Associate Professor of Accounting and Business Law, College of Business
  • Dr. Carmen Tejada-Delgado, Assistant Professor of Teacher Education, College of Education
  • Dr. Guang Zeng, Assistant Professor of Educational Leadership and Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
  • Dr. Kevin Concannon, Assistant Professor of English, College of Liberal Arts
  • Dr. Riccardo Mozzachiodi, Assistant Professor of Life Sciences, College of Science and Engineering

The Board of Regents also conferred the title of Emeritus/Emerita on the following A&M-Corpus Christi professors for their years of dedicated service and scholarship at the Texas A&M System:

  • Dr. Janis Haswell, Professor Emerita of English
  • Dr. Sam Logsdon, Professor Emeritus of Music
  • Dr. Thomas Shirley, Professor Emeritus of Marine Biology
  • Dr. Robert Vokurka, Professor Emeritus of Operations Management
  • Dr. Ray Whitmire, Professor Emeritus of Finance (awarded posthumously)