Nursing Honors Students Inducted Into Sigma Theta Tau Chapter

Published: January 07, 2014

Nursing Honors Students Inducted Into Sigma Theta Tau Chapter

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas- More than 80 students at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi were inducted as new members into the Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Honor Society of Nursing on Dec. 19 in the University Center, Lone Star Ballroom. Each student was called on stage to receive a pin from the Eta Omicron chapter officers, and a lavender cord.

“Membership in Sigma Theta Tau International Society of Nursing comes with both honor and responsibilities,” said Dr. Sara Baldwin, Associate Professor of the College of Nursing and Health Sciences and STTI Chapter President. “We expect our nurses to lead by using knowledge in practice, scholarship and service to advance health care.”

Bachelor of Science in Nursing Students inducted into the organization were: Ojuolape Adams, Crystal Alvarado, Britni Bass, Maria Bone, Sara Cabano, Brin Davis, Derek Dimas, Yen Doan, Amber Ellett, Sierra Garbe, Iliana Garcia-Knapick, David Gonzalez, Jared Gonzales, Cynthia Gutierrez, Cayla Henry, Emily Holzhaus, Amanda Juarez, Lauren Martin, Isabel Martinez, Norma Moreno, Drew Mueller, Jorel Orgas, Veronica Pafford, Kayla Parris, Laura Pena, Angela Ramirez, Julie Reyes, Christina Rizzo, Raquel Rodriguez, Ashley Silva, Krystle Talamantes, Ace Phillip Tardo, Makelia Tatum, Kinsey Tipton, Kathleen Van Dam, Katie Wernecke, and Marissa Yepez

Masters of Science in Nursing Students inducted into the organization were: Livina Akpunku, Matthew Becka, Eric Behm, Metosha Brantly, Celeste Bryand, Sunny Burke, Neile Bush, Graciela Chong, Patricia Correa, Sherrel Downes, Uloma Eke, James Garza, Joella Gibbs-Stiles, Blanca Gomez, Alanna Guerra, Jennifer Gustafson, Holly Haas, Marifa Hesita, Valerie Hudgens, Melissa Huggins, Ashley Hughes, Ogechi Iwuanyanwu, Jamie Johnson-Varnado, April Jones, Ellen Jones, Sonya Jones, Roberta Jukes, Sally Land, Jessica Marshall-Moreno, Greg Martinez, Amy McClure, Kristen Mercer, Kerry Messer, Juaniece Miller, Christy Montalvo, Sondra Nicholson, Sherri Pena, Krystle Ramon, Valerie Serna, Kristen Sosa, Patricia Squires, Shelly Garcia, Tracy Sudduth, Karen L Taylor, Bailey Whit, and Jermaine White.

“I feel honored to receive and accept this invitation to nursing’s most prestigious nursing organization,” said Valerie Hudgens, a MSN student in her final year of the program. “It is so special to be able to share this moving ceremony with my family.”

The honor society consists of nurse leader candidates, graduate students, registered nurse students, and undergraduates. All new members must maintain a grade point average of at least 3.0, be ranked in the top 35 percent of their class, and meet other academic qualifications.