Sixty Nursing Students Inducted into Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society

Published: May 20, 2014

Sixty Nursing Students Inducted into Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas –Sixty students at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi were inducted as new members into the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing on May 15 in the Performing Arts Center. Each student was pledged and inducted on stage receiving lavender and white honorary cord and pin from Eta Omicron chapter officers.

“We are so proud of the 60 undergraduate and graduate students that were inducted this evening,” said Dr. Sara Baldwin, Associate Professor of Nursing and President of Eta Omicron chapter, Sigma Theta Tau International. “They represent nursing’s future leaders and scholars. They also represent outstanding providers of selfless service to people in need.”

The program featured honorary speaker Mary Beth Luttrell, MSN, FNP-C, a graduate program alumni and Family Nurse Practitioner at La Esperanza Health Center in San Angelo, Texas. Luttrell spoke of the exciting opportunities as a rural health nurse.

Students inducted into the organization are:

Bachelor of Science in Nursing: Rajaa Abdelrazeq, Hope Abrego, Ilysia Mia Alaniz, Jennifer Allen, Eric Andrews, Lichinha Barbosa, Megan Bell, Johna Blount, Sylvia J. Bolster, Jackie N. Chavarria, Lacey M. Cudd, Ashley Dague, Kristen Dishman, Amy Eitzen, Leslie Equivel, Allison Fels, Jovany Gama, Elizabeth Ann Garza, Julia Ana Garza, Lorraine M. Garza, Amanda Gragert, Brooke Hernandez, Wendy Holbach, Joanna Ives, Maymie Ledbetter, Esther Long, Shelby Lyda, Faith Mabo, Jessica Mangum, Kaylyn Perez, Louis Perez, Jennifer Quijas, Aricela A. Rodriguez, Lauren Silva, Ryann K. Smith, Lindsey Snodgrass, Leslie Tebby, Wendy Velez, Sarah Vickers, Emily Watkins, Susan Wynn, Jesus Zapata, and Ryan Zeller.

Masters of Science in Nursing: Nerelda Araiza, Jennifer Ashcraft, Maria Ayarzagoitia, Georgina Bressett, Celeste Bryand, Felicia Farris, Aracele Garcia, Jennifer Gustafson, Melissa Huggins, Sonya Jones, Lavonya McAlister, Tricia Moreno, Margarita Myles, Bina Patel, Lacy Perez, Christina Perry, and Jordyn Woltersdorf.

The honor society consists of nurse leader candidates, and graduate and undergraduate students. Students entering this organization met the requirements of academic success, academic integrity, professionalism, and leadership potential. 

The mission of Sigma Theta Tau International, nursing’s only honorary society, is to advance world health and celebrate nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service.  Eta Omicron is the local chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International, charted in 1986 by Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi’s College of Nursing and Health Sciences.