Nursing Students Celebrate Accomplishments during Summer Recognition Ceremony

Published: August 20, 2014

Nursing Students Celebrate Accomplishments during Summer Recognition Ceremony

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – The College of Nursing and Health Sciences (COHNS) held its Hooding and Recognition Ceremony on Friday, Aug. 8, at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi to honor 113 students for their achievements and earning their degrees during the summer 2014 semester.

“The hooding ceremony is where we officially recognize students who received advance degrees as we are moving our nurses into more advance roles,” said Dr. Eve Layman, Associate Dean of Graduate Nursing Programs. “The second part of the ceremony is to invite our undergraduate students to watch the hooding so they can realize that there is another step for them to take in their education.”

The ceremony, held in the Performing Arts Center, included the hooding of more 23 master’s degree students and a pinning ceremony for 90 undergraduate nursing students who earned their degrees. The ceremony not only recognized the students’ degree completion, but also recognized their family, friends, and educators for supporting the graduates during their journey to success.

“I feel so relieved, blessed, and grateful that I am being welcomed into the upper ranks of graduates,” said Valerie Hudgens, who received her Master’s of Science in Nursing. “Ultimately my master’s, which emphasized nursing leadership, has helped me to see processes, policies, and procedures that will benefit patient safety.”

Students receiving degrees were:

Bachelor of Science in Nursing: Rajaa M. Abdelrazeq, Liana B. Abeto, Hope Abrego, Jessica Acosta, Ilysia M. Alaniz, Eric R. Andrews, Matthew R. Apiado, Derek L. Arredondo, Richard S. Arthur, Jamira P. Baniqued, Lichinha A. Barbosa, Danielle A. Barrera, Kimberly A. Barreto, Megan L. Bell, Kendall M. Bishop, Sylvia J. Bolster, Xelena C. Caldwell, Courtney J. Chanler, Amy Cervantez, Jackie N. Chavarria, Francisco Coronado, Jr., Tiffany H. Cruz, Monica R. Cuate, Lacey M. Cudd, Laura L. Delgado, Monica Delgado, Amy R. Eitzen, Allison J. Fels, Glennisha R. Files, Natalie R. Flores, Nicole M. Flores, Jovany F. Gama, Lissa M. Garcia, Jason R. Gonzalez, Melissa T. Haffter Von Heide, Tamara N. Hardy, Brooke L. Hernandez, Alana D. Hilliard, Joel W. Houghton, Joanna G. Ives, Sara E. Jantz, Kara M. Johnson, Kasie M. Jones, Anthony Kelly, Alyssa B. Kerbow, Illiana M. Knapick, Holly A. Kroeger, Tahera D. Lloyd, Jason M. Lott, Efren J. Loyola Jr., Jessica M. Mangum, James B. Mayo, Brianna P. Mebane, Karen L. Meza, Bryan M. Miller, Kateland R. Mills, Yaricssa Pena, Kaylyn G. Perez, Louis D. Perez, Noelia Perez, Danielle R. Plate, Ashley N. Pretzer, Yvonne A. Quiroz, Mayra P. Rendon, Kim M. Resendez, Lindsey N. Riddle, Lauren N. Silva, Lindsey N. Snodgrass, Irma R. Vela, Wendy A. Velez, Emily I. Watkins, Dysherrika M. Wester, Anna L. Wilfong, Debby Lou York, Jesus R. Zapata III

Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences: Ashley S. Alvarez, Joseph A. Brunemeier, Tori M. Buttle, Angela M. De La Cruz, Ashlyn E. Finnie, Kelsey L. Grafton, Amy L. Miller, Tyler L. Nunley, Adam J. Paredes, Valerie M. Perez, Kayla I. Pineda, Marissa L. Ramirez, Stephanie M. Salinas, Kathryn T. Summers, Vanessa M. Vasquez, Adam S. Webernick, Korrin D. Yager, Brittany A. Yepez

Master of Science in Nursing: Afolake A. Ayodele, Sarah F. Bassett, Matthew E. Becka, Kathryn D. Bircher, Celeste M. Brizzee, Ammie J. Dominguez, Daniel C. Estrada, Felicia C. Farris, Judy R. Foster, Karen E. Gangwer, Tammy L. Gerberding, Debra G. Guthrie, Valerie C. Hudgens, Kathleen J. Hurst, April L. Jones, Kristen R. Mercer, Sondra K. Nicholson, Jennifer M. Nickel, Jennifer C. Olivarez, Leoda J. Presley, Rose M. Wells, Kirby A. Wilson, Kimberly C. Zatopek

Post-Master Certificate: Courtney Gallion

Other award winners were:                                                                   

Outstanding Graduating BSN Nursing Student: Lichinha Barbosa

Outstanding BSN eline Nursing Student: Xelena Caldwell

Outstanding Graduate Nursing Student: Jennifer Nickel

Outstanding Student Researcher: Kirby Wilson

O’Neil Award for Caring: Kara Johnson

O’Neill Award for Caring eLine student: Noelia Perez

Outstanding Graduating Health Science Student-Brittany Yepez

Health Sciences Leadership Award: Marissa Ramirez

The hooding part of the ceremony has historic roots. By placing the hood over the students’ heads, professors symbolically welcome them as fellow scholars. Today, the hood’s colors represent a graduate’s university and major. The COHNS hoods are apricot in color.