Cash Awards Given at Fourth Annual Student Research Forum

Published: December 12, 2014

Cash Awards Given at Fourth Annual Student Research Forum

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Students at Texas A&M University–Corpus Christi presented their research at the fourth annual Marine Science Graduate Student Organization (MSGSO) Student Research Forum on December 3 at the Harte Research Institute. 

Presentations ranged from past, present, and future research and consisted of short and long oral, and poster presentations. Undergraduates were also given the opportunity to present their research at the forum.

“This year, we really wanted to expand our invitation to the undergraduates,” said Kathryn Mendenhall, event coordinator and Vice President of MSGSO. “In the future, we hope to expand it to a university-wide research forum. We’ve had very high numbers in attendance and participants this year, and in addition, we were able to get sponsorships and monetary awards for some of the presenters.”

Sponsors included the Gulf Estuarine Research Society, the Harte Research Institute, and the College of Science and Engineering.

Awards were presented in the following categories:

Graduate Student Oral

  • 1st Place: Quentin Hall, marine biology major, received $100.
  • 2nd Place: Melissa McCutcheon, environmental science major, received $75.
  • 3rd Place tied: Pavel Dimens, marine biology major, received $50.
  • 3rd Place tied: Jason Selwyn, marine biology major, received $50.

Graduate Student Poster:

  • 1st Place: Melissa Brewer, marine biology major, received $100.
  • 2nd Place: Elena Kobrinski, coastal and marine system science major, received $75.
  • 3rd Place: Ken Hayes, environmental science major, received $50.

Undergraduate Student Oral:

  • 1st Place: Joann Coronado, mathematics major, received $75.
  • 2nd Place: Jacob Berryhill, geographic information systems major, received $50.
  • 3rd Place: John Johnson, marine biology major, received $25.

Undergraduate Student Poster:

  • 1st Place: Courtney Knauer, marine biology major, received $75.
  • 2nd Place: Group Poster – Aaron Botello, Ginal Daniel, Melonie Vazquez, and Kaci Frederick, received $50.
  • 3rd Place: Group Poster – Blake Bosch, Alexandra Karydas, Michael McKeever, and Angie Potter, received $25.