More than 90 Nursing Students Receive White Coats during Special Ceremony

Published: March 13, 2015

More than 90 Nursing Students Receive White Coats during Special Ceremony

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas –The College of Nursing and Health Sciences at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi honored more than 90 students during the White Coat Ceremony held February 26 in the Performing Arts Center.

In September Texas A&M-Corpus Christi was one of five colleges in Texas to receive funding support to pilot White Coat Ceremonies and the College is continuing the tradition. The ceremony is designed to instill a commitment to providing compassionate care among future health professionals. The University’s College of Nursing and Health Sciences was selected for this honor by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation (APGF) and the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN). A total of 90 nursing schools across the nation were selected for this honor.

During the event, faculty coated nursing students in groups of 10 which consisted of the recitation of an oath and cloaking of students in a white coat. Students also received a special Humanitarian pin sent from the Gold Foundation. The pin will serve as a visual reminder of their oath and commitment to providing high quality care. Following the ceremony, a reception for students and their families was held in the PAC lobby.

Students honored in the ceremony were: Courtney D. Adrian, John H. Ahlers, Amitha Anandula, Lexus S. Arroyo, Kirbe R. Ball, Corina L. Balle, Martin Barrera, Laura K. Coats, Melody Balser-Cruz, Sandra Barrera, Heather M. Bazan, Erin E. Beverick, Antonio E. Cantu, Anna J. Cardenas, Andrea M Castaneda, Alexandra L. Cavazos, Jessica K. Cawthon, Samantha N. Cervantes, Erika Y. Cortez, Marissa Delagarza, Gabriela P. Deck, Raquel I Delvalle, Michel T. Diaz, Okiemute O. Diejomaoh, Trevor T. English, Candace N. Flores, Giovanni Flores, Luis Flores, Lorisa L. Gallardo, Alyssa R. Garcia, Analysa M. Garcia, Megan E. Garner, Loren E. Garza, Marina R. Garza, Jessica A. Gonzales, Ashley D. Grief, Jessica Z. Harvey, Felicia N. Hernandez, Dustin A. Jacob, Asma S. Jan, Mikayla N. Johnson, Thomas M. Kalinowski, Annalisa King, Aldo A. Landin, Jordan N. Lang, Sarah A. Leeper, Victoria E. Lindahl, Nicholas R. Loredo, Lisete Maldonado, Candace M. Martinez, Leticia M. Martinez, Michelle R. Massey, Carrie M. Mcknight, Shelby A. Mihalco, Candy M. Mohler, Celina Molina, Kirstina Nava, Karen Nguyen, Aileene N. Nillo, Emilia E. Nkwo, Daniel R. Oakes, Felisha M. Olivarez, Allyson A. Osborn, April L. Owen, Genevieve G. Padilla, Sarah W. Padron, Ashley N. Park, Katie Parks, Mallory L. Patzke, Amber M. Pendarvis, Justin I Perez, Mark A. Perez, Jackielou M. Philipp, Madeline M. Preiss, Terri J. Ramirez, Briana N. Randazzo, Cheryl L. Rister, Angela A. Rivera, Christa D. Rivera, Lillie A. Rodriguez, Victoria L. Rodriguez, Shayna R. Rotter, Carlee R. Ruembke, Dana N. Russell, Stephanie M. Sanchez, Mary C. Sheehan, Courtney N. Smith, Ryan A. Speirs, Natalie M. Stange, Candace R. Stapp, Angelica P. Sydow, Stephenie L. Tatum, Ashley N. Taylor, Jasmine R. Taylor, Reana M. Teichman, Mckenzie K. Toye, Christina C. Tran, Laura Vargas, Shelby L. Vasquez, Elizabeth E. Wallek, Janalee A. Webb, Mareshah Wehmeyer, William B. Wilson, Samantha J. Wing, and Brittany T. Wymore.

The Island University has been a statewide leader in nursing education for decades; distinctions include grants and recognition from the White House for its outreach to veterans. The Master of Science in Nursing program at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi ranked 28 out of 96 in Best Online Graduate Nursing Programs by U.S. News & World Report, and is the third highest Texas school on the national list. The College also was awarded the 2013 Excellence and Innovation in Teaching Award by the American Association of Colleges of Nursing.