Discover Your Island

University Honors Employees at 2015 Islander Awards Celebration

May 01, 2015


CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi took a moment to recognize select employees for their dedication and service to the Island University during the 19th annual Islander Awards Celebration held April 24 in the University Center, Anchor Ballroom. During the ceremony, service award pins were presented to employees who achieved five-year service milestones.

In addition, staff and faculty Excellence Award recipients were announced.

Recipients of Faculty Excellence Awards were:

            Excellence Award for Teaching: Dr. David Miller, Associate Professor in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences

            Excellence Award for Teaching Innovation: Julie Fomenko and  Susan Greathouse, Clinical Assistant Professors in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences

            Excellence Award for Service: Dr. Marilyn Spencer, Professor in the College of Business

            Excellence Award for Research and Scholarly Activity: Dr. Joshua Ozymy, Associate Professor in the College of Liberal Arts

            Excellence Award for Creative Activity: Dr. Elizabeth Sefcik, Professor in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences

            Excellence Award for Librarianship:  Lisa Louis, Coordinator of Reference and Information Literacy

Recipients of Staff Excellence Awards were:

            Excellence Award: Virginia Hopkins, Library Information Specialist in the Mary and Jeff Bell Library

            Expansion Award: Vicki Beck, Administrative Assistant at the Art Museum of South Texas

            Engagement Award: Liz Gonzalez, Senior Executive Assistant in Finance and Administration

This year, 148 employees received service award pins.

Recipients of 25-Year Service Award Pins were:

            Alberto R. Royo: Primary Academic Advisor for Undergraduate Students

            Dr. David M. Billeaux: Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

            Dr. Bunny Forgione: Associate Dean in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences

            James Rizzo: Assistant Director of Operations in the Conrad Blucher Institute

            Rebecca Torres: Comptroller for Finance and Administration

Recipient of the 30-Year Service Award Pin was:

            Nora Vallejo: Manager of Help Desk Services in Information Technology

Recipient of the 35-Year Service Award Pin was:

            Diana Ybanez: Mail Services Specialist

The program also honored recent graduates in the “Parade of Achievers,” recipients of the Dorothy Yeater Scholarship, and the most recent cohort of the Leadership, Excellence, and Development Program. Family and friends of the recipients were invited to attend the event.