Students and Faculty Honored at 3rd Annual SAMC Awards

| Published: May 08, 2015

Students and Faculty Honored at 3rd Annual SAMC Awards

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas –  Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi hosted the third annual School of Arts, Media, and Communication (SAMC) Awards, “A Night of Celebration and Performance,” in the Performing Arts Center on Sunday, May 3.

The SAMC Awards recognized outstanding faculty and students from the four SAMC departments: Art, Communication & Media, Music, and Theatre & Dance. The award recipients were selected by the faculty and staff of each department, honoring distinguished contribution to the University. Several current Islanders performed at the event.

A total of 36 student awards were presented. In addition, Dr. William “Bill” Huie, retired Chair for the Department of Communication and Media, was honored with an emeritus status at the event. Student recipients are as follows:


  • Excellence in Art History- Evija Rucevska
  • Excellence in Ceramics- Emily Howard
  • Excellence in Drawing- Jen Olvera
  • Excellence in Graphic Design- Alyssa Garza
  • Excellence in Painting- Martin Molina
  • Excellence in Photography- Stella Wheeler
  • Excellence in Printmaking- Ross Turner
  • Excellence in Sculpture- Alex “Al” Johnson


  • Outstanding Director- Reed Chappell
  • Outstanding Actor- Aaron Arroyo
  • Outstanding Actress- Mariah Claiborne
  • Outstanding Theatre Designer- Kevin Johnson
  • Outstanding Theatre Technician- Sasha Andrade
  • Outstanding Theatre Education Student- Jordan Barrett
  • Outstanding Theatre Student- Calan Welder
  • Outstanding Theatre Student- Bianca Hooi
  • Outstanding Choreographer- Thi Nguyen
  • Outstanding Dancer- Brittany Salinas


  • Outstanding Scholar in Media Studies- Alfonso Castillo Jr.
  • Outstanding Scholar in Communication Studies- Shantay Breunig
  • Outstanding International Student- Josephine Christianti
  • Outstanding Scholar in PR- Amanda Jackson
  • Outstanding Journalism Student- Conner Tichota
  • Outstanding Graduate Scholar- Casandra Lorentson
  • Outstanding Student Leader- Bianca Hernandez
  • Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant- Ran Yao
  • Outstanding Narrative Film- Carlos Flores


  • Excellence in Scholarship- Jacob Galvan
  • Excellence in Scholarship- Byron Pillow
  • Excellence in Scholarship and Excellence in Performance- Pattrasai Tipyananukul
  • Excellence in Performance- Jacquelyn Vaught
  • Excellence in Performance- Janell Stallard
  • Excellence in Service- Matthew Carter
  • Excellence in Service- Justin Garcia
  • Excellence in Service- Matthew Paiz