Thirty-five Nursing Students Join Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society

Published: May 20, 2015

Thirty-five Nursing Students Join Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – New members were inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing on May 14 in the Performing Arts Center at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi.  Each student was pledged on stage and received a lavender and white honorary cord, along with an inductee ribbon, from Eta Omicron Chapter officers.

“It is a true honor to be invited and inducted into membership to Sigma Theta Tau: Eta Omicron Chapter,” said Nursing Clinical Instructor Yvonne Serna, MSN, RN-Board Certified and President of Eta Omicron Chapter, Sigma Theta Tau International.  “As students, they have already exhibited leadership, service, community and honor in the nursing profession. We, as an organization, are excited to see what milestones and firsts these students will accomplish in their professional careers.”

The keynote address featured speaker Cathy L. Miller, Ph.D., RN, a graduate program alumna and a professor in the Louise Herrington School of Nursing at Baylor University in Dallas, Texas.  Miller spoke on “Best Practice for Survivors of Sex Trafficking.”

Students who joined the organization are:

Bachelor of Science in Nursing: Michael Anthony Gandara, Loraine Santos Garcia, Luis Fernando Gomeztapia, Amanda Leigh Goodenow, Austin James Jennings, Stacy Louise Kincy, Kirstin Elizabeth Kinder, Kirsten A. Larsen, Armando Lugo, Kelly Lynn Reedy, Kristen Page Scheler, Michelle Elaine Shumake, Scarlett Kristine Swanson, Christina Marie Thigpen, Kayla Rose Traxler, Nicole Brion Volek, and Emiley Gayle Vrooman

Masters of Science in Nursing: Cassie Anne Dennis, Haley Della Fuller, Irasema Garcia, Mayra Elizabeth Garza, Eduy James, Erika Janett Juarez, Diana Monique Martinez, Lavonya McAlister, Christy Montalvo, Priscilla Moris, Sheila Patterson, Lisa Price, Imelda Rios, Ellen Simms, Goldie Diane Strader, Meghan Sutton, Petya Vasileva Taskov, and Nenita Torres

The honor society consists of community nurse leaders, along with graduate and undergraduate students. Students entering this organization meet the requirements of academic success, academic integrity, professionalism and leadership potential.  

The mission of Sigma Theta Tau International, the only honorary society of nursing, is to advance world health and celebrate nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service.  Eta Omicron is the local chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International chartered in 1986 by the College of Nursing and Health Sciences at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi.