Islander Nursing Students Inducted into Sigma Theta Tau Honor Society

Published: December 15, 2015

Islander Nursing Students Inducted into Sigma Theta Tau Honor Society

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – The Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi chapter of the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society held its induction ceremony on December 10 in the University Center, Anchor Ballroom. A total of 33 inductees took the pledge on stage and received their honorary cords, along with an inductee ribbon from Eta Omicron Chapter officers.  Thirty of the inductees received either a Bachelor or Master of Science in Nursing degree at commencement on December 12. Three inductees were nurse leaders from the community who are also faculty members in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences (CONHS).

“For the past two years, I have gone to school, held two jobs, and took care of my four children,” said Alicia De Los Santos, who earned a Master of Science in Nursing. “It’s definitely been a struggle, but this induction ceremony proves that all my hard work has paid off.”           Rolando Lira also earned a Master of Science in Nursing.

“It is a great invitation to be a part of this honor society,” said Lira. “I am very enthusiastic about being here and I feel that Sigma Theta Tau can open up a lot of opportunities for me in higher education.”

The mission of the only honorary society of nursing is to advance world health and celebrate nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership and service. Eta Omicron, the local chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International, was chartered in 1984 by many faculty members of the CONHS at A&M-Corpus Christi, Corpus Christi State University at that time.

“It is a true honor to be invited and inducted into the membership of Sigma Theta Tau, Eta Omicron Chapter,” said Nursing Clinical Instructor Yvonne Serna, MSN, RN-Board Certified and President of Eta Omicron Chapter, Sigma Theta Tau International. “As students, they have already exhibited leadership, service and honor in the nursing profession. We, as an organization, are excited to see what milestones and firsts these students will accomplish in their professional careers.”

Keynote speaker for the induction ceremony was Dr. Eve Layman, Ph.D., RN, NEA-BC and Associate Dean for Graduate Nursing Programs and Associate Professor in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences at A&M-Corpus Christi. Layman’s speech titled, “An Essential Attribute of Leadership: Followership,” acted as a farewell speech in advance of her impending retirement from the CONHS after 14 years of service.

The Bachelor of Science in Nursing fall inductees included Angela Aldrich, Brayton James Amidon, Jasmine Angele Archangel, Ryan Reed Baize, Cheyenne Bauer, Disha Bhatt, Keri Chandelle Brown, Shayna Marie Carr, Justyn Cruz-Aedo, Priscilla, Diaz, Meagan Dowd, Robert Cameron Eikel, Corri Leeann Fancher, Samantha Dianne Flores, Selena Nicole Henderson, Shyla Hoff, Tabitha Orgenia Hurley, Kira Larsen, Alyssa Marie Schelsteder, Kayley Stacell, Shaun Tindall, Matthew G. Thompson, Jennifer Tracy and Brianna Worcester. 

The Master of Science in Nursing fall inductees included Alicia de Lourdes De Los Santos, Shirley M. Franklin, Rolando Lira, Pamela Charmeon Pankey and Cristina Winters.

Also inducted was Dr. Patrick Albert Ayarzagoitia, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC and Assistant Professor of Nursing; Teresa Ercan, MSN, RN, CEN, CPEN and Assistant Clinical Professor; and Rosario A. Garcia, MSN, RN and Assistant Clinical Professor.