A&M-CC Professor Named to Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators

Published: December 29, 2015

A&M-CC Professor Named to Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas — Dr. Frank Lucido, Professor of Education at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, has been selected to join the Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators. Lucido joins nine other exemplary faculty members from Texas A&M University System institutions in the 2016 selections. The Academy recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of teacher education and highlights the A&M System’s role in producing K-12 teachers for the state of Texas.

“Because of the hard work our faculty put into preparing teachers for the classroom, the Texas A&M System is known throughout the country for producing some of the best teachers,” said John Sharp, Chancellor of The Texas A&M System. “Through the Academy, we recognize those who have worked tirelessly to ensure that students are equipped with the experience and knowledge necessary to become top-quality teachers themselves. I am proud to honor and welcome the latest inductees.”

Lucido said he is only one of the many hardworking professors and instructors in the College of Education.

“This recognition is humbling and appreciated,” he said. “I thank the Texas A&M University System, in particular Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, my family and my colleagues in the College of Education for their support.”

Past Academy members help select the latest inductees. University faculty, staff and students are able to nominate any full-time faculty member who has had a significant impact in the preparation of teachers.

Academy members each receive a $1,000 stipend, commemorative medallion, and a certificate. The 10 new inductees will be officially recognized at the Chancellor’s Century Council annual meeting in Austin in March 2016.

The other inductees are:

  • Dr. Jane Schielack, Texas A&M University
  • Dr. David Brown, Texas A&M University-Commerce
  • Dr. Anita Castaneda, Tarleton State University
  • Dr. Elsa Diego-Medrano, West Texas A&M University
  • Dr. Randall Williams, Texas A&M University-Kingsville
  • Dr. Sumalai Maroonroge, Texas A&M International University
  • Dr. Sara Lawrence, Texas A&M University-Texarkana
  • Dr. Deborah Davis, Texas A&M University-Central Texas
  • Dr. Amy Porter, Texas A&M University-San Antonio