University Honors Outstanding Alumni, Athletes at 2016 Homecoming Honors Banquet

Published: February 11, 2016

University Honors Outstanding Alumni, Athletes at 2016 Homecoming Honors Banquet

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi alumni and athletes were honored for their outstanding efforts during the 2016 Homecoming Honors Banquet held on February 5 in the University Center, Anchor Ballroom.

Awards presented that evening included College Achievement Awards, Athletic Hall of Honor Inductions and Distinguished Alumni Awards.

“This University put me in the right place at the right time,” said Roy Ford (’71), who was inducted into the Athletic Hall of Honor. “Every chance I get, I brag about A&M-Corpus Christi. It is exciting to talk about what’s happening here.”

Award recipients included:

College Achievement Awards

  • College of Business: Juan Sabastian Garzon ’12 ’13, Business Coordinator at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi’s Coastal Bend Business Innovation Center.
  • College of Education and Human Development: Vinay Dulip ‘88 ’95, a Chemistry Teacher at Corpus Christi Independent School District’s (CCISD) Moody High School.
  • College of Liberal Arts: John Marez ’00 ’02, a CCISD School Board Trustee and Vice President and Training Supervisor at the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services.
  • College of Nursing and Health Sciences: Heather Degrande ’06 ‘08, MSN, CCRN, a Clinical Assistant Professor of Nursing at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi.
  • College of Science and Engineering: Dr. Maggie Dalthorp ’85 ’11, an Exploration Manager at Murex Petroleum Corporation.

Athletic Hall of Honor Inductions

  • Roy Ford ‘71: Ford came to the Island University in 1969 as a transfer point guard from North Texas. Prior to Ford’s arrival, the team had a record of 1-11. During his playing time that year, the Tarpons won 11 of 12 games and advanced to the NAIA National Tournament for the first time in program history. The Hobbs, N.M., native averaged 15.6 points, 5.5 rebounds and 4.6 assists in during his time in a Tarpon uniform. Listed as one of the Most Outstanding College Athletes in America in 1970, Ford received Top Playmaker and Mr. University Corpus Christi laurels. Click here to see a feature video of Ford.
  • Members of the 2004-2005 Islanders Women’s Basketball team: The 2004-05 Islanders Women’s Basketball team reached unparalleled heights. Under the guidance of head coach Jodi Kest, the Islanders posted a 23-7 record, which included wins over Nevada, Indiana and undefeated West Virginia. The first 20-win season in program history earned the blue and green a bid to the Women’s National Invitation Tournament, the first postseason appearance in program history. President and CEO of A&M-Corpus Christi Dr. Flavius Killebrew presented the 2004-2005 Islanders with the first Presidential Award of the Silver Wave. Click here to see a feature video of the basketball team.

Distinguished Alumni Awards

  • Young Alumna Award: Sara Helmy ‘11, CEO and Founder of Tribu Marketing + Design. Click here to see a feature video of Helmy.
  • Outstanding Alumnus: Dr. Richard Smith ’03 ’06, Assistant Professor of Geographic Information Science and Geospatial Surveying Engineering at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi and Chief Technology Officer and Founder of CartoFusion Technologies. Click here to see a feature video of Smith.
  • Distinguished Alumnus: Patrick Joseph O’Boyle ’86, Owner of Coastal Deli Inc. (Jason’s Deli). Click here to see a feature video of O’Boyle.

To view more photos from the Homecoming Honors Banquet, click here.