Discover Your Island

20 Nursing Students and 1 Nurse Leader Inducted into Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society

December 16, 2016


CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – The College of Nursing and Health Sciences (COHNS) at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi held their Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing induction ceremony on December 15 to honor a total of 21 inductees earning their degrees during the fall 2016 semester. The ceremony took place in the Performing Arts Center.

“It is a true honor to be invited and inducted into the membership of Sigma Theta Tau: Eta Omicron Chapter,” said Nursing Clinical Instructor Yvonne Serna, MSN, RN-Board Certified and President of Eta Omicron Chapter, Sigma Theta Tau International.  “As students, they have already exhibited leadership, service, and honor in the nursing profession. We, as an organization, are excited to see what milestones and firsts these new members will accomplish in their professional careers.”

Barron Rodriguez, Director of Critical Care at Corpus Christi Medical Center was the keynote speaker for the induction ceremony and gave his speech titled, “Becoming A Nurse Leader.”

Twenty inductees are A&M University-Corpus Christi students who will receive Bachelor of Science in Nursing degrees. One inductee is a nurse leader who received her Master of Science in Nursing degree in 2014 from TAMU-CC and, now, teaches as a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Bachelor of Science Nursing Program at Texas A&M International University (TAMIU) located in Laredo, Texas.

The December 2016 CONHS were:

Bachelor of Science in Nursing: Charles Barrett Belknap, Kaitlyn Breedlove, Miranda Dirth, Marion Flores, Lorisa Liliana Gallardo, Lauren Garcia, Calvin Edwin Hennegar, DeAnna Brooke Henson, Brenda Izaguirre, Emilia Nkwo, Obiageli Jancita Omeke, Shelby Parks, Kimberlee E. Reed, Jasmine Robledo, Anna Luisa Robles-Sanchez, Justin Nicholas Ruiz, Erica Thompson, Corey Ryan Wakefield, Samantha Warmath, and Wanda Zavala Ziehr.

Nurse Leader: Sarah Frances Bassett, MSN, RN. 

Membership in the honor society consists of undergraduate and graduate students, as well as nurse leaders from the community.  New inductees meet the requirements of academic success, academic integrity, professionalism, and leadership potential. 

The mission of the only honorary society of Nursing is to advance world health and celebrate nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service.  Eta Omicron is the local chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International.  It was chartered in 1984 by many faculty members of the College of Nursing and Health Sciences at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi.