Discover Your Island

26 Island University Faculty Receive Promotion and/or Tenure

November 21, 2017


CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi has officially granted 26 faculty members promotion and/or tenure status, effective immediately. A congratulatory reception was held November 17 in the University Center. The granting of tenure is the most important decision in the development of an outstanding faculty member. It is a selective process which signifies that Texas A&M-Corpus Christi believes the faculty member will continue to make a long-term contribution to the areas of teaching, service, research, scholarship and creative activity. Promotion in rank is recognition of past achievement of a faculty member and is a sign of confidence that the individual is capable of even greater accomplishments and of assuming greater responsibilities.

The following faculty received promotion and/or tenure:

College of Business

Faculty receiving promotion and tenure:

  • Dr. Randall Harris, Professor of Management
  • Dr. David Hudgins, Professor of Economics


College of Education and Human Development

Faculty receiving promotion:

  • Dr. Randall Bowden, Professor of Educational Leadership-Higher Education Administration

Faculty receiving promotion and tenure:

  • Dr. K. Michelle Hunnicutt Hollenbaugh, Associate Professor of Counselor Education
  • Dr. Stephen Lenz, Associate Professor of Counselor Education


College of Liberal Arts

Faculty receiving promotion:

  • Dr. Ross Bernhardt, Professor of Music
  • Dr. Charles Etheridge, Professor of English
  • Dr. Amanda Garcia, Professor of Art
  • Dr. Joshua Ozymy, Professor of Political Science
  • Dr. Mary Thornton, Professor of Music

Faculty receiving promotion and tenure:

  • Ms. Jilissa Cotten, Associate Professor of Dance
  • Dr. Stephen Doolan, Associate Professor of English
  • Dr. Gina Glanc, Associate Professor of Psychology
  • Dr. Raimundo Morales, Associate Professor of Music
  • Mr. Jose Peña, Associate Professor of Art
  • Dr. Carrie Pierce, Associate Professor of Music
  • Dr. Brian Shelton, Associate Professor of Music


College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Faculty receiving promotion:

  • Dr. Yolanda Keys, Professor of Nursing

Faculty receiving tenure:

  • Dr. Christina Murphey, Associate Professor of Clinical Nursing


College of Science and Engineering

Faculty receiving promotion:

  • Dr. Eugene Billiot, Professor of Environmental Chemistry
  • Dr. Longzhuang Li, Professor of Computer Science
  • Dr. Ahmed Mahdy, Professor of Computer Science
  • Dr. Mehrube “Ruby” Mehrubeoglu, Professor of Engineering

Faculty receiving promotion and tenure:

  • Dr. Chuntao Liu, Associate Professor of Atmospheric Sciences
  • Dr. Dorina Murgulet, Associate Professor of Geology
  • Dr. Jennifer Pollack, Associate Professor of Marine Biology