Faculty Senate Meeting

May 10, 2024

UC Bayview

1. Meeting was called to order @ 2:06 pm

Attendance: see table

10									
Χ									
V									
X									
Χ									
Χ									
0									
Х									
V									
^									
V									
^									
0									
Χ									
Х									
Х									
Υ									
^									
0									
0									
Χ									
	l								
Χ									
	X X X O X X X X X O O	X X X O X X X X O O O O O O O O O O O O	X	X	X	X X X X O X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X	X X X X O X X X X X X X X X X X X X X X	X	X

Page **1** of **5**

		1	1	ı — —	ı — —		
Valeriu	Χ						
Murgulet							
(COS)							
Thomas	Χ						
Oldham							
(SAMC)							
Felix	Х						
Omoruyi	^						
(CONHS)							
	.,						
Dale	Х						
Pattison							
(CLA)							
Miguel	Χ]				
Perez							
(CONHS)							
Robin	Χ						
Pizzitola							
(COEHD)							
Lori	Х						
Podolsky	^						
(Library)							
Ed Proffitt	Х						
(COS)	^						
Ric Ricard	Х						
(COEHD)							
Leigh Shaver	Χ						
(CONHS)							
Brian	Χ						
Shelton							
(CLA)							
Matthew	Х						
Starliper	^						
(COB)							
Rabih Zeidan	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,						
	х						
(COB)		<u> </u>	İ				

Other: Kevin Houlihan, Dr Sibila (Ombuds), Kelly Bezio (AAUP), Allie Kelly (AAUP)

- 2. Agenda: Motion to approve Agenda by Senator Pizzitola second by Senator Starliper
 - a. Approved unanimously
- 3. Introductions
 - a. name, unit (e.g., college), first or second term senator, liaison organization all senators introduced themselves
- 4. Election of Officers
 - a. Speaker Isla Schuchs Carr elected unanimously (26 votes)
 - b. Deputy Speaker Timothy Scott Johnson elected (25-1)
 - c. Secretary Catherine Harrel elected unanimously (26 votes)
- 5. New Business
 - a. A. Parliamentarian pending
- 6. Old Business

- a. Land Acknowledgement Task Force review from Senator Pattison on Task Force acknowledgement; points of discussion: words have come from native partners, language from multiyear process with many collaborative partners, some schools have 2 acknowledgements a long and short, the short version doesn't meet all criteria, needs to be clear statement is from Faculty Senate, Sen Pattison proposed changing the order for the statements so it's clear its form Senate; Vote with amendment: 22 yes; 2 no, 2 abstentions
- b. B. CUPA data sending out again, reports that data is missing, different disciplines not there, send info to Isal; CIP code is Not in Interfolio if you want to know, ask your dean

7. Committee Breakout Sessions

a. University committee assignments for FS:

Campus Wellness Committee	Judy Metcalf	Voting Member	
Committee on Committees	Dale Pattison	Ex-Officio (voting)	
Council of Principal Investigators and Research Administrators (CPIRA)	Taoran Ji	Non-Voting Member	
Ethics and Compliance Committee	Isla Schuchs Carr	Ex-Officio (voting)	
Expressive Activity Committee	Jennifer Anderson	Voting Member	
Graduate Council	Ed Proffitt	Non-Voting Member	
Honorary Degree Recommendation Panel	Isla Schuchs Carr	Ex-Officio (voting)	
Institutional Effectiveness Committee for Academic Units	Isla Schuchs Carr	Ex-Officio (voting)	
Staff Council	Isla Schuchs Carr	Ex-Officio (non-voting)	
Strategic Planning Council	Isla Schuchs Carr	Ex-Officio (voting)	
Student Success Council	Jeanine Birdwell	Voting Member	
Transportation Advisory Committee		Voting Member	

Senate Committees (*Committee Chair(s))

Academic Affairs

Kevin Loeffler (SAMC)

Lori Podolsky (MJBL)

Scott Johnson (CLA)

Ahmed Kamara (COB)

Felix Omoruyi (CNHS)

Robin Johnson-Chair (COEHD)

James Ikonomopoulos (COEHD)

Val Murgulet (COS)

Zhaorui Li (COECS)

ABE

Tom Oldham (SAMC)*

Tianxing Chu (COECS)

Matthew Starliper (COB)

Leigh Shaver (CNHS)

Jeanine Birdwell (COEHD)

COC

Dale Pattison (Fall)*

Taoran Ji (COECS)

Ed Proffitt (COS)

Ric Ricard (COEHD) (Spring)*

Budget

Brian Shelton (SAMC)

Miguel Perez (CNHS)*

Rabih Zeidan (COB)*

Ahmed Kamara (COB)

Cherie McCollough

(COS)

Faculty Affairs

Susan DeGhizé (SAMC)

Zhaorui Li (COECS)

Alihan Hadimlioglu (COECS)*

Jennifer Anderson (MJBL)

Mara Barbosa (CLA)

Sandy Huang (COB)

Cathy Harrel (CNHS)

Ric Ricard (COEHD)

Judy Metcalf (COS)

Executive committee

	academic	
Senator	unit	position
Isla Schuchs Carr	CLA	Speaker
Timothy Scott Johnson	CLA	Deputy Speaker
Cathy Harrell	CNHS	
		Parliamentarian
Robin Johnson	COEHD	Chair of Academic Affairs Committee

Tom Oldham	SAMC	
		Co-Chair of Committee on Committees (Fall
Dale Pattison	CLA	only)
		Co-Chair of Committee on Committees
Ric Ricard	COEHD	(Spring only)
Miguel Perez	CNHS	Co-Chair of Budget Committee
Rabih Zeidan	СОВ	Co-Chair of Budget Committee
Alihan Hadimlioglu	COECS	Chair of Faculty Affairs Committee
	cos	
Jennifer Anderson	MJBL	representative

8. Liaison Reports

- a. AAUP/AFT (Kelly Bezio) resource for faculty document form conference distributed; upcoming hearing @ State Senate May 14 regarding SB 17 /DEI compliance if anyone wants to provide testimony AAUP/Kelly can assist; Faculty Senate is topic for next legislative year per Dan Patrick; invite Faculty having trouble with visa paperwork to take concerns to AAUP; Student protesters connected re freedom of speech
- b. B. Ombuds Dr Sibila would like to visit each college meeting, send her dates and she will reach out to deans
- c. Expressive committee Senator Anderson people on expressive committees need to be aware of issues related to protesters & encounters
- d. Speaker Schuchs Carr will reach out to fill missing liaison posts
- 9. For the good of the Order
- 10. Motion for adjournment: Senator Anderson, all approved. Meeting adjourned @ 3:56.

Submitted by Cathy Harrel

Secretary Faculty Senate