Staff Council General Meeting UC Bay View, 320 June 22, 2023 2:00 - 3:30 pm

I. The meeting was called to order at 2:04 PM. Attendance:

- Members Present: Alexandra Janney, Ben Soto, DeAnna Crites, Ricardo Reyes, Zelda Chacon, Alex Zavala, Angelica Santillan, Christina Loftin, Christopher Palfreyman, Cynthia Duff, Jessica Aleman, Kit Wilson, Lauran Guerra, Mary Canales, Nathaniel Galvan, Regina Gonzales, Trennon Cavanagh, Diana Avila, Erica Hill, Julian Martinez, Lorraine Soliz, Esmeralda Vasquez, Maria Pedigo, Roxanne Singsaas, Alexis De Leon, Johnathan Cooper
- Members Absent: Sara Chapa, Ashley Marion, Hayford Osei
- **II.** Agenda: Motion to approve agenda by Christopher Palfreyman, seconded by Maria Pedigo.
- **III.** Approval of previous meeting minutes: No previous meeting minutes to approve.
- **IV.** President Report from Alexandra Janney.
 - a. Officer Elections: Secret Ballots cast by each member of the Staff Council group. Past president, Johnathan Cooper, tallied ballots. Election results are as follows.
 - 1. President-Elect/Vice President (Trennon Cavanagh)
 - 2. Parliamentarian (Nathaniel Galvan)
 - 3. Secretary (Lauran Guerra)
 - 4. Treasurer (DeAnna Crites)
 - 5. Historian (Mary Canales)
 - b. University Committee assignments:

Calendar Committee	Lauran Guerra
Campus Wellness Committee	Mary Canales
Committee on Committees	Trennon Cavanagh
Environmental Committee	Nathan Galvan
Expressive Activity Committee	Ben Soto
Faculty Senate	Trennon Cavanagh
Historically Underutilized Business Comm.	Ricardo Reyes
Institutional Effectiveness	Alexandra Janney
International Education Committee	Hayford Osei
Strategic Planning Council	Alexandra Janney
Student Endowment Scholarship Comm.	Regina Gonzalez
Student Success Council	Jessica Aleman
Transportation Advisory Committee	Johnathan Cooper

University Safety Committee

Johnathan Cooper

- c. Staff Council Committee Assignments:
 - 1. Nominations and Elections Trennon Cavanagh, Zelda Chacon, Ben Soto, Ricardo Reyes.
 - 2. Communication Committee Lauran Guerra, Alexis De Leon, DeAnna Crites, Ashley Marion.
 - 3. AdHoc Bylaws Review committee Nathan Galvan, Christina Loftin, Roxanne Singsaas, Hayford Osei.
 - 4. Benefits & Employee Development Mary Canales (Chair), Alex Zavala, Jessica Aleman, Sara Chapa.
 - 5. University Relations Esmeralda Vasquez, Maria Pedigo, Lorraine Soliz, Cynthia Duff, Kit Wilson, Christopher Palfreyman, Julian Martinez, Erica Hill, Diana Avila, Angelica Santillan, Regina Gonzales.
- V. Staff Council Committee Reports

University Relations: June Break in the Day – Kona Ice Cream truck

Date: June 28, 1-3 pm

Location: CI courtyard – reserved, 2 A-frame tents are reserved Audience: Faculty, staff, and student workers only (no students) Funding: Kona Ice will charge SC per cone sold (Faculty Senate contributes \$200) Contact: (361) 658-6244

<mark>Still To Do:</mark>

- Create a flyer advertising the event for A-frame poster stands.
- Post the event to the University calendar.
- Send an email to All Staff and All Faculty advertising the event.
- Provide Staff Council personnel to welcome staff and faculty to the courtyard/Kona Ice truck and provide tickets to give to the Kona Ice personnel.
- VI. University Committees Reports Alexandra informed the group that every Staff Council meeting will have a Committee Report.

VII. Liaison Reports (if any)

- Advisor Update Jaclyn Mahlmann None.
- HR Update Dr. Jacquelyn Flowers Zelda Chacon is the SEBAC representative. Zelda reported that insurance premiums will not change this year. Healthcare maximum has increased. A reminder was given for the Wellness Two Step process, as well as the vacation/sick hour reset on Sept 1st – use your time as overage does not carry over. Fertility Coverage has been added to benefits. Emergency room visits are switching to a co-pay status.
- IT Update Ben Soto Technology Management Program (TMP) messages sent to centrally funded departments. Deans and VPs of areas have been emailed about individuals in their depts who will be receiving new technology/computers. IT is replacing most 2018 devices this year, and 2019 devices next year. IT will be directly

communicating with eligible employees and supervisors during the actual replacement process.

- VIII. Old Business Alexandra prompted the group to think about alternate methods of developing forms for the Dorothy Yeater Scholarship. I-Engage is currently used, but staff engagement with that platform is very low as it is mostly used by students.
- IX. New Business:
 - For booking a room that can seat around ~30 people, NRC 1003 was recommended. It was also recommended to check HRI or CASA.
 - Staff Council pictures and information were posted to the Staff Council Directory members should verify their positions and information.
 - Staff Council "Market Place" is discontinued for the time being.
 - A Student Worker might be needed in Fall. \$10 an hour up to 19 hours a week.
- **X.** For the good of the order None.
- **XI.** Motion for Adjournment: Nathaniel Galvan motioned to adjourn; Christopher Palfreyman seconded. All approved and meeting was adjourned at 2:51 PM.