Islander Awards CELEBRATION

HONORING FACULTY AND STAFF MEMBERS
AS THEY ARE RECOGNIZED FOR SERVICE
MILESTONES AND SIGNIFICANT
CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE UNIVERSITY

APRIL 29, 2021



A CELEBRATION OF EXCELLENCE

ISLANDER AWARDS

WELCOME & OPENING REMARKS

Dr. Kelly M. Miller *President & CEO*

SERVICE AWARDS

Margaret Dechant

Associate Vice President for School & Community Relations

STAFF EXCELLENCE AWARDS

Sharmeen Ahmed

Director, Tech Transfer and Commercialization

FACULTY EXCELLENCE AWARDS

Dr. Clarenda Phillips
Provost & Vice President

'BE WELL' UNIVERSITY CUP CHAMPIONS

Suzanne Bonds

Professional Counselor II

INTERDIVISIONAL COLLABORATION AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE

Jaclyn Mahlmann

Vice President for Finance & Administration

PARADE OF ACHIEVERS

Jaclyn Mahlmann

Vice President for Finance & Administration

1:00 p.m	President's Welcome
1:10 p.m	Presentation of Awards
2:30 p.m	Closing Remarks
2:45 p.m2020 Serv	ice Pin Recipient Pictures

SERVICE AWARD RECIPIENTS 5 YEARS

Amanda Sanchez Lizzy Valdez Andrew Gonzalez Lucy Sheehan Mahdiar Hariri **Anjin Chang** Barbara Szczerbinska Marco Longoria Bipana Sigdel Margaret Aubrey Mario Ramirez Brandice MacDonald Mario Cortinas Brent Ericksen Charles Proffitt Mary Sanchez

Chris Feagin Maryam Jalali-Mousavi

Christopher Andrews
Christopher Pool
Daqun Zhang
David Hilder
Derrik Hiatt
Dessynie Edwards
Elizabeth Vosseller
Michele Imes
Nancy Miller
Pamela Ortiz
Quentin Hall
Rachel Johnson
Raquel Garcia

Heather Herrera Roy Ferdin

Jangwoon Park Russell Franques

Jen Grabarczyk-Turner Sangmi Lim Jennifer Garza-Cuen Sarah Salter

Jessica Han Shelley Martinez-Lopez

Jian Sheng Silas Breaux

Jocelyn Gutierrez Stephanie J Schmidt

Joseph GarciaStephen GreeneJudy MetcalfSusan De Ghize

Karen Franzone Suyang Pei

Kateryna Porter Suzie Bazemore Kayla Crowell Teresa McEnulty

Kelli Bippert Tiesong Lu
Kevin Amaya Villeda Tye Payne
Kimberly Trejo Tyler Higgins
Kristina Nelson Valeriu Murgulet
Laura Helbling Veronica Munoz

Lin Zhang Wayne Willmon

SERVICE AWARD RECIPIENTS 10 YEARS

Lisa Louis Amanda Marquez Angela Speaker Mark Hughes

Candace Martinez Mayra Alvarado Ramirez

Carrie Pierce Melissa Pimentel Christopher Brannan Misty Kesterson Nathaniel Galvan Danell Reilly Dorina Murgulet Nene Coulibaly Elani Morgan Noelle Ballmer

Erica Garza Patricia Spaniol-Mathews

Iason Williams Sandra Stokes **Julie Shuttlesworth** Shelley Dinkens Karen Hunnicutt Hollen-Stephen Doolan baugh **Troy Martinez** Larry Lloyd Zelda Chacon

Liliana Gonzalez

SERVICE AWARD RECIPIENTS 15 YEARS

Catherine Harrel Joseph Doan Paul Olivares Cherie McCollough Dennis Coplen Ralph McFarland

Frank Pezold Shay Lee

Jennifer Bray Terence Palmer **Jennifer Anderson** Terrance Oprisko

Jose Flores

SERVICE AWARD RECIPIENTS 20 YEARS

Christina Holzheuser Gail Sutton Chuleeporn Changchit **Gregory Buck James Silliman** Cynthia Turner Dan Sipes Lisa Perez

David Blanke Margaret MacDonald

Denise Dougherty Maria Pedigo

Elizabeth Perez Mario Montelongo Marvarene Oliver Erin Hill

Esmeralda Teran Mary Canales

SERVICE AWARD RECIPIENTS 20 YEARS CONTINUED

Michelle Rice Shawn Elizondo Patricia Rodriguez Susan Murphy Philippe Tissot Theresa Sharpe Ricardo Reyes Zava Kuklinski

SERVICE AWARD RECIPIENTS 25 YEARS

Andrew Piker Richard Ricard Kevin Krank Sandra Kureska Stefan Sencerz Leticia Villarreal

Melissa Adames

SERVICE AWARD RECIPIENTS 35 YEARS

Phillip Johnson

Melanie Morales

Kara Pettit

Tuan Phung Lizzy Valdez



Excellence Inclusion **Impact**

Kenneth Brown **David Jones** Suzann Burgess Brandon Mandigo Cari Loeffler Art Montiel Sonia McNeill **Joanne Salinas**

Mari Alexander Lorena Barrera Lauran Guerra Kaylyn Mireles

Elizabeth Rivera

FACULTY EXCELLENCE AWARDS NOMINEES

Excellence in Creative Activity

Mr. Tom Murphy, CLA

Dr. Riccardo Mozzachiodi, CSE

Dr. Ethan Thompson, CLA

FACULTY EXCELLENCE AWARDS NOMINEES

Excellence in Teaching

Dr. Michelle Hunnicutt Hollenbaugh, COEHD

Dr. Katherine Roberto, COB

Excellence in Teaching Innovation

Dr. Mikaela Boham, COEHD

Dr. Joshua Watson, COEHD

Excellence in Service

Mr. Sean Britt, CLA

Excellence in Research and Scholarly Activity

Dr. Riccardo Mozzachiodi, CSE

Dr. Ethan Thompson, CLA

'BE WELL' UNIVERSITY CUP CHAMPIONS

University Cup Winners

Wellness Warriors

Amanda Drum

Claudia Ayala

Amanda Morales

Daniel Passonno

Tony Long

Brandon Mandigo

Highest Scoring Individual Winner

Claudia Ayala

INTERDIVISIONAL COLLABORATION AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE WINNING TEAM

"Noyce STEM Inspires"

The winning team included individuals from both the College of Science and Engineering and the College of Education and Human Development.

PARADE OF ACHIEVERS

Mari Alexander

Bachelor of Applied Sciences

Samantha Barrera

Master of Science in

Educational Administration

Melissa Chapa

Master of Science in

Educational Administration

Deshawna Colvin

Master of Science in

Instructional Design & Educational Martin French

Technology

Revae Crenshaw

Master of Business Administration

Kayla Crowell

Master of Science in Nursing Family Nurse Practitioner

Robert Dillard

Master of Arts in History

James Dogbey

Master of Accountancy

Risha Dulip

Master of Business Administration

Nicole Edgar

Bachelor of Arts in English

Master of Science in Biology

Sarina Garcia

Bachelor of Science in

Computer Science

Joseph Hill

Master of Science in **Environmental Science**

PARADE OF ACHIEVERS

Taylor Hubbard

Master of Science in

Educational Administration

Victor Soto

Bachelor of Business

Administration

Hunter Nail

Master of Science in

Kinesiology

Derrick Soza

Master of Science in

Kinesiology

Paige Nguyen

Master of Business Administration Master of Business

Reana Teichman

Administration

Sandeep Jilla

Master of Science in Computer

Science

Esmer Teran

Master of Business

Administration

Maria Serna

Master of Science in

Educational Administration

Ryan Turner

Master of Science in Coastal

and Marine System Science

Lisa Snell

Master of Science in Nursing

THANK YOU

TO ALL OF OUR AWARD RECIPIENTS AND NOMINIEES

We consider ourselves very fortunate that you have provided such dedicated and effective service to the University. Each of you have contributed to the University's efforts to excel as a pre-eminent institution in our mission. Through your efforts and commitment, the University is becoming a beacon to the world as an environment for learning and discovery that is rich in diversity and inclusion.