University Honors Outstanding Alumni, Athletes at Inaugural Homecoming Honors Banquet

Published: March 03, 2014

University Honors Outstanding Alumni, Athletes at Inaugural Homecoming Honors Banquet

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Texas A&M University- Corpus Christi alumni and athletes were honored for their outstanding efforts during the Inaugural Homecoming Honors Banquet held on Friday, Feb. 28. Awards presented Friday evening included College Alumni Awards, Athletic Hall of Honor Inductions, and Distinguished Alumni Awards. The event was part of the University’s Homecoming Week 2014. A list of the award recipients, their categories, and their accomplishments is as follows:

Award recipients were:

College Alumni Awards

  • College of Business: Michael Hunter, Financial Advisor at Merrill Lynch in Corpus Christi
  • College of Education: Bryan Mayhood, Director of Season Ticket Sales and Services for Corpus Christi Hooks
  • College of Liberal Arts: Michael Henneberger, Digital Production Coordinator at Comedy Central
  • College of Nursing & Health Sciences: Irene Rosales, Health Services Director for United Independent School District (UISD) in Laredo
  • College of Science & Engineering: Dr. Danyel Tacker, Assistant Professor of Pathology at West Virginia University

Athletic Hall of Honor Inductions

  • Johnny Cloud, a five-time entrant into the Texas Golden Gloves tournament
  • Robert “Bob” Maroney, Head Coach of the Tarpons (1962-1964) and Texas A&M University System Board of Regents Professor Emeritus
  • Donald “Trey” Hearne, former St. Louis Cardinals Pitcher who received the Texas League Pitcher of the Year recognition

Distinguished Alumni Awards

  • Young Alumni Award: Dr. Mark Olson, Assistant Professor of Chemistry at Texas A&M Corpus Christi
  • Outstanding Alumnus: Libby Averyt, Publisher and CEO of the Corpus Christi Caller-Times
  • Distinguished Alumnus: Dr. Haysam Dawod, Owner of Dawod Dental Center and SmileTeam Dentistry