College of Business Holds Luncheon Honoring Regents Professor Award Recipients

Published: December 12, 2014

College of Business Holds Luncheon Honoring Regents Professor Award Recipients

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – The Texas A&M University–Corpus Christi College of Business honored four recipients, who have each received the Regents Professor Award, during a luncheon held on campus on December 3.

The newest recipient of the 2014 Regents Professor Award is Dr. Donald Deis, Professor of Accounting. Other past recipients who were recognized were Dr. Jim Lee, Professor of Economics (2012); Dr. Awni Zebda, Professor of Accounting (2009); and Dr. Leon Dube, Professor of Marketing (2003). The event was attended by Dr. Flavius Killebrew, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi President and CEO; Dr. John Gamble, Dean of the College of Business; and faculty.

“It is quite an honor to join my three College of Business colleagues as a Regents Professor,” said Deis. “Having four Regents Professors in the College of Business speaks to the high quality faculty in our College and at A&M-Corpus Christi. The award has an extra special meaning to me since I grew up in Corpus Christi, and was a member of the initial class of students who enrolled when the University re-opened as a public university in 1973.”

Deis, a Corpus Christi native and University alumnus (BA ’75 and MBA ’77) is also the first holder of the Ennis and Virginia Joslin Endowed Chair in Accounting. Deis and his wife Kathy, also a University alumnus, have established scholarship funds in both the accounting and nursing departments.

The Regents Professor Award of the Texas A&M University System honors individuals at the rank of professor or equivalent who performance as faculty members not only to their institution, agency, or health science center component, but also to the community, the State of Texas, and /or at the international level has been exemplary.

Regents Professors are presented with a stipend and certificate designating the recipient as a Regents Professor, signed by the Chancellor and the Chairman of the Board of Regents. They are also designated as a “Regents Professor” and will maintain their title for the duration of their service within the A&M System.