Island University Recognizes Newly-Qualified Teachers

Published: December 16, 2015

Island University Recognizes Newly-Qualified Teachers

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – More than 50 students from Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi were recognized for their accomplishments to become professional educators during the Teacher Education Induction Ceremony held December 9 in the Performing Arts Center.

Each student was presented with a medallion to commemorate their professional accomplishments as newly-qualified educators, who seek to impact the success of future generations through education.

Inductees into the Teaching Profession and the locations/programs in which they completed their field based training are:

Master’s and Certification/Alternative Certification of Educators: Melanie Canales, Bianca Gonzales, Sierra Herr, Brittany Jurica, Gloria Morales, Yvonne Serrata and Sabrina Simpson

Adjusted Scheduling and Curriculum in Education for Non-Traditional Students (ASCENT) program : David Carrillo, Michele Cotter, Patricia Gonzalez, Jessica Hernandez, Alexandria Rossi, Victoria R. Rutledge, Danielle M. Tefft and Rodolfo Valadez, IV

Tom Browne Middle School: Elizabeth C. Bradshaw, Amber N. Farrar, Christine Price, Leianna K. Rich, Bradley Shauf and Ruben Vasquez

Kostoryz Elementary School: Maribel Barrios, Mary V. Benavides, Joanna A. Blonigen, Jessica R. Gadbois, Marcie M. Hatheway, Alma D. Mangel, Felicia N. Martinez and Courtney B. Trevino

Miller High School: Jasmin J. Cantu, Jose G. De Leon III, Emilie M. Norwood, Kaitlin O. Perales, Rudy Sanchez and Nicole M. Weaver

Montclair Elementary School: Rebekah Espinoza, Ashley B. Green, Lesley A. Gutierrez, Sarah Leal, Janie Morales, Victoria R. Pantoja, Jessica M. Reynolds and Kaitlyn D. Taylor

Schanen Estates Elementary School: Brandi R. Bennet, Amanda R. Blair, Trisha M. Cruz, Samantha E. Hill, Crystal J. Nieto, Melissa Pena, Misty N. Spence, Rose Tijerina, Priscilla N. Vasquez and Nicole A. Ybarra

Webb Elementary School: Diana Lopez

The Teacher Education Induction Ceremony featured Dr. Alicia Needham, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction at Flour Bluff Independent School District, as the guest speaker. Needham, who has been involved in public education for the past 34 years, started her career as a secondary science teacher. She later became Director of Instruction and has served as the Executive Director for the Flour Bluff ISD Foundation for Educational Excellence, an organization that supports innovative teaching ideas. Needham has been an advocate and mentor to pre-service teachers, student teachers and first-year teachers throughout her career.