Island University Celebrates National Student Employee Appreciation Week

| Published: April 22, 2016

Island University Celebrates National Student Employee Appreciation Week

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi paused to celebrate its more than 1,260 student workers during National Student Employee Appreciation Week (April 11-15). Events included a Student Employee Bash free luncheon on April 11 and a Student Employee of the Year Reception on April 14, to honor the “best of the best” University student staff. Both events were organized by Career Services.

“Student workers make a big difference here at A&M-Corpus Christi,” said Dr. Stefani Schomaker, Associate Director of Career Services. “They help our departments function and allow us to operate at full capacity.”

At the reception, the student employee nominees were awarded certificates and goody bags. Maricruz Alvarado, a senior communication major who works as an Events Services Assistant in Community Outreach, was named Student Employee of the Year.

“I am honored just to have been nominated,” said Alvarado. “I love the people I work with and I’m very appreciative for this award.”

Alvarado was nominated by Crystal Seehorn, Events and Conferences Manager for the Department of Community Outreach, and Deanne Hubenak, Community Outreach Business Coordinator, for her outstanding work ethic, professionalism, enthusiasm and ability to complete tasks at the highest standard.

“From day one, Maricruz has proven herself reliable beyond compare, arriving to work early and willing to stay late,” said Seehorn. “Each day, I cannot help but be grateful for such an outstanding, intelligent and detail-oriented young women to assist our diverse customer base.”

Student nominees included:

  • Maricruz Alvarado, Community Outreach (Winner)
  • Austin Blasé, Center for Academic Student Achievement (1st Runner up)
  • Kristina Bradshaw, Institutional Advancement 
  • Marjoriee Chunga Linares, Disability Services
  • Analese H. Doherty, Printing Services 
  • Saira S. Gonzalez, Center for Academic Student Achievement
  • Joshua Green, Information Technology Help Desk
  • Colin Jefferies, Institutional Advancement
  • Nicholas Jung, University Center, Student Activities, Operations (2nd Runner up)
  • Samantha Krause, Institutional Advancement
  • Michael Kroeger, Accounting Services, Comptroller’s Office
  • Emerald Lopez, Career Services (2nd Runner up)
  • Riksy Nunez, Community Outreach
  • Bethany Pokluda,  Mary and Jeff Bell Library 
  • Delina Richardson, Camden Miramar
  • Eric Romero, IT Technology (2nd Runner up)
  • Carl Suding,  Recreational Sports
  • Nikki Teeter, Mary & Jeff Bell Library, Acquisitions
  • Jacquelien Tovar,  Department of Technical Education 
  • Vincent Verduzco,  University Center, Student Activities
  • Stephanie Zook, Career Services

To see photos from the luncheon, click here. To see photos from the awards reception, click here.