TAMU-CC Recognizes Longtime Employees, Retirees, Recent Graduates and Excellence Awards Recipients

Published: May 06, 2016

TAMU-CC Recognizes Longtime Employees, Retirees, Recent Graduates and Excellence Awards Recipients

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi took a moment to recognize select employees for their dedication and service to the Island University during the 20th annual Islander Awards Celebration held April 29 in the University Center, Anchor Ballroom.

“This is a special day to recognize the good work that all of you do,” said Dr. Flavius Killebrew, President and CEO of Texas A&M-Corpus Christi. “We appreciate everything you all do to make the Island University great.”

During the ceremony, which was hosted by Human Resources, service award pins were presented to employees who achieved five-year service milestones.

Dr. Steven Hall, Professor in the College of Business, was the employee with the most longevity honored at the pinning. He received a standing ovation as he walked up to receive his 35-year pin.

Additionally, Staff Council and Faculty Senate Excellence Award recipients were recognized.

Faculty Senate Excellence Awards went to:

  • Teaching: Dr. Chuleeporn Changchit, Professor of Management Information Systems
  • Service: Dr. Philip Rhoades, Professor of Criminal Justice, Regents Professor and Director of the Social Science Research Center
  • Creative Activity: Tom Murphy, Professional Assistant Professor of English
  • Research and Scholarly Activity: Dr. Bradley Shope, Director of the Center for Faculty Excellence and Assistant Professor of Music
  • Teaching Innovation: Dr. Magesh Thiyagarajan, Associate Professor of Engineering

Staff Council Awards went to:

  • Excellence: Phil Hale, Systems Administrator II In Information Technology
  • Expansion: Andres Castellanos, Network Specialist II In Information Technology
  • Engagement: David Hill, Preparator at the Art Museum of South Texas

Others recognized at the Islander Awards Celebration included the recognition of all administrative professionals, Honors Program faculty, the Parade of Achievers, Dorothy Yeater Scholarship winners, University Police Department awards, Academic Advisors honored by the National Academic Advising Association, and the Leadership, Excellence and Development program participants. Earlier in the day, current faculty and staff had coffee with Texas A&M-Corpus Christi retirees at the Retiree Hospitality Room, and later, TAMU-CC retirees were hosted at a private luncheon. To see photos from the hospitality event, click here.