Island University Inducts New Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Members

Published: May 04, 2016

Island University Inducts New Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Members

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi held an induction ceremony on April 3 to welcome more than 50 students, faculty and staff into the into the local chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society. The Society's mission is to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others. Chapter President is Dr. JoAnn Canales, Dean of the College of Graduate Studies.

“Having a Phi Kappa Phi chapter at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi is very important to our mission as a university,” said Canales. “It enables us to recognize the achievements and accomplishments of our students, staff and faculty. It also affords numerous scholarship opportunities for its members and it helps us meet one of the six criteria for funding eligibility from the National Research University Fund.”

Graduate and undergraduate initiates included:

College of Business

Katherine Blake
Kristina Bradshaw
Whitney Curry
Jenna S. Graves
Taylor  A. Graves
Nathan Gilbert
Colin Jefferies
Martynas Karys
Nathalie Khodr
Amanda C. Patterson
Errol A. Peña
Tyson  E. Peters
Roberto Ramirez
Kelsey Anne Silva
Aaron  Torres 

College of Education and Human Development

Rebecca Alvarado
Shelley Dominguez
Brandalyn Duda
Mercedes Garcia
Marina Rae Garza
Diane Grote
Mapuana Jones
Stephen Luis
Masomeh Mahzoon-Hagheghi
Jennifer Martinez
Esohe Omoruyi
Esteban Salazar
Joe D. Simmons
Diane Whitley 

College of Liberal Arts

Sarah Arroyo
Emma Biba
Jason Brady
Kyle Campbell
Marie Odette Cruz
Michelle L. Fitch
Joe Anthony Hernandez
Jennifer Ramirez
Marisa Rodriguez
Anna Sellers
Amanda Torres

College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Amy Lynn Barton
Sara Nichole Cabano
Kelly Fletcher
Heather Garrison
Rebecca Geise
Michelle Karys
Amy Bagley-Krenek
Jessica McGinnis
Kristin Ember McGrath
Brin Morris
Gwendolyn Mueller
Jessa Perry
Anabelle Rodriguez

College of Science and Engineering

Edward T. Hankins
Jason L. Houze
Martin Saldana
Nicolas Spalt
Alan Downey-Wall
Savannah Wilkinson

Faculty and Staff initiates included:

Dr. Faye Bruun, Associate Professor of Curriculum and Instruction
Dr. Linda Gibson-Young, Associate Professor and Graduate Chair of the College of Nursing and Health Sciences
Dr. Christina Murphey, Associate Professor and Undergraduate Chair of the College of Nursing and Health Science
Dr. Catherine A. Rudowsky, Director of the Mary and Jeff Bell Library
Dr. Steven Seidel, Professor of Psychology
Dr. Richard Smith, Assistant Professor and Program Coordinator of GISc and GSEN

To see photos from the ceremony, click here. To learn more about the Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, go to