TAMU-CC College of Liberal Arts Honors Students at Fourth Annual SAMC Awards

Published: May 06, 2016

TAMU-CC College of Liberal Arts Honors Students at Fourth Annual SAMC Awards

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi hosted the fourth annual School of Arts, Media, and Communication (SAMC) Awards in the Performing Arts Center on May 1. The event was sponsored by Tipsy Canvas.

The SAMC Awards recognize outstanding students from the four Liberal Arts departments: Art, Communication & Media, Music and Theatre & Dance. The award recipients are selected by faculty and staff of each department for their achievements the past year. A total of 37 SAMC awards were handed out this year.


  • Emma Biba, Excellence in Graphic Design
  • Dan Heskamp, Excellence in Printmaking
  • Trent Thigpen, Excellence in Art History
  • Paul Seeman, Excellence in Sculpture
  • Jason Valdez, Excellence in Drawing/Painting
  • Courtni Whetsell, Excellence in Ceramics
  • Ambrosia Washington, Excellence in Photography

Theatre & Dance:

  • Freddy Acevedo, Outstanding Choreographer
  • Eric Alvarado, Outstanding Actor
  • Mariah Claiborne, Outstanding Actress
  • Frank Garcia, Jr., Outstanding Theatre Student
  • Austin Halter, Outstanding Dancer 
  • Ismael Lara, Outstanding Director
  • Chase Owen, Outstanding Theatre Education Student
  • Macee Sampson, Outstanding Theatre Designer
  • Nancy Yanez, Outstanding Theatre Technician

Communication & Media

  • Courtney Birk, Outstanding Student Leader
  • Josephine Christianti, Outstanding Scholar in Communication Studies
  • Jamie Fink, Outstanding Journalism Student
  • Rebecca Gonzalez, Outstanding Public Relations Student
  • Casandra Lorentson, Outstanding Graduate Scholar
  • Lindsay Minton, Outstanding Scholar in Media Studies
  • Edward Montez, Outstanding Documentary Film and Outstanding Narrative Film
  • Deborah Teixeira, Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant


  • Bradly Berkefelt, Excellence in Performance
  • Justin Garcia, Excellence in Performance
  • Pattrasai Tipyananukul, Excellence in Scholarship
  • James Gonzales, Excellence in Service
  • Eulalio Martinez, Excellence in Service
  • Bevan Moody, Excellence in Performance
  • Amy Rubio, Excellence in Service
  • Janell Stallard, Excellence in Scholarship
  • Jacquelyn Vaught, Excellence in Scholarship

This year, audience members of the SAMC Awards were treated to performances from the Department of Theatre and Dance’s cast of “RENT,” the Trombone Choir, the Singers’ Theatre student organization and film trailers from Communication & Media students.

To see more photos from the SAMC Awards, click here.