Island University Teacher Induction Ceremony Recognizes 109 Future Educators

Published: May 16, 2016

Island University Teacher Induction Ceremony Recognizes 109 Future Educators

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas – A total of 109 students from Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi received recognition for their accomplishments of fulfilling all requirements to become professional educators during the Teacher Education Induction Ceremony held May 11 in the Performing Arts Center.

During the ceremony, each student was presented with a medallion from their mentors and site professors to commemorate their professional accomplishments as newly-qualified educators who seek to impact the success of future generations through education.

“Not only does TAMU-CC focus on preparing you as a teacher, but they want you to get a job as well,” said Rogelio Rios, who is receiving his Master of Science in Secondary Education. “The College of Education and Human Development faculty is outstanding—the support they have for their students is shown without question.”

The Teacher Education Induction Ceremony also featured guest speaker, Christian Auger, Corpus Christi Independent School District High School Math Specialist and TAMU-CC alumnus. Auger received his Master of Science in Curriculum and Instruction in 1998.

Inductees into the Teaching Profession and the locations where they completed their field-based training are:

Members of Graduate-Level Programs: Gerardo Aguero, Stacy McNeal, Theresa Moczygemba, Samantha Perez, Rogelio Rios and Marco Rocha.

Adjusted Scheduling and Curriculum in Education for Non-Traditional Students (ASCENT) program: Lara Aguirre, Theresa Bouldwin, Tara Cortez, Elissa M. De La Paz, Yvelia Galabeas, Cole Martinez, Maria E. Rodriguez, Victoria R. Rutledge, Amber N. Vela and Monica Munoz.

Tom Browne Middle School: Kathryn C. Brunkenhoefer, Argentina Cortez, Sareth S. Crown, Raul Delgado, Amanda Guillory, Gabrielle N. Holloway, Lynette L. Lambert, Malissa Lopez, Tiff any Lopez, Nicole P. Mollenkopf, Shelley Oltmanns, Kathy J. Perez, Sarah Robichaux Brown, Mathew D. Umstead and Haley Zamora.

Flour Bluff Independent School District: Melena Adams, Lyndon Charlton, Joel T. De La Garza, Nyesia Dominguez, Brenda Hernandez, Jayma Howard, Ismael Lara, Sloane Langham, Felicia Merkel, Alexa C. Montemayor, Chase A. Owen, Gabriella R. Ramirez, Corina Elma Rodriguez, Marisa Soza and Nathan E. Valdez.

Kostoryz Elementary School: Alexis R. Arriaga, Amy N. Baker, Kassandra Brunks, Alexandra Bodin, Allison Cortinas, Jessica Deal, Valeria De La Garza, Audrey D. Gonzalez, Veronica Gonzalez, Katherine D. Harty, Marcie M. Hatheway, Camilo Moreno, Monique Phillips, Sarah E. Sloan, Veronica Stevens, Kaleigh L. Whitley and Madeline B. Williams.

Roy Miller High School: Rashad L. Anderson, Alexis M. Arreola, Ryan Bennett, Lane Cosper, Shelby Curlee, Dakota Finney, Lindsey Holmes, Eric Lara, Tanya Pena, Trisha Pokrass, Hector Salinas III, Mariah D. Sanchez and Hannah Towle.

Montclair Elementary School: Hanna Abbe, Sarah M. Alexander, Yuliana Almanza, Sarah M. Baumgartner, Kylie Christian, Nicol Darwent, Christina Davis, Ana Escobedo, Marissa Garza, Ellysse Gonzalez, Christian A. Gracia, Renee A. Guerra, Melissa J. Hernandez, Erin Howard, Marina Kearns, Randi Maresh, Janie Morales, Amber Sears and Kayla Smith.

Schanen Estates Elementary School: Lianna M. Aguilar, Bianca Alvarado, Ashley E. Crowe, Marcia Gomez, Ashley A. Gonzalez, Erika A. Gonzalez, Melody Hammann, Amanda Keeter, Arlynnda Norgaard, Azita Pardom, Priscilla N. Pedrazine, Emily K. Wilson and Kate K. Yarbrough.